France, I learned from you

I find it a little bit funny, how 12 years ago, I would plop my body in front of the television screen and watch Mary-Kate and Ashley’s Passport to Paris on repeat for about 8 hours straight. My mother would get so upset because she would have to always have to drop what she was doing just so she could rewind the VHS for me (remember how tedious those VHS were?). Thankfully, she always let me watch it just one more time. While watching Passport to Paris, I always played pretend. Who would have thought this “mock life” would become my own reality in the near future. The dream of Paris and adventure became a sudden reality in my early twenties. I can’t help but laugh because who would have thought the goofy girl with the mediocre grades would have the chance to study abroad.

But if you want it, you can have it.

I got my unimaginable dream of the lifetime that I wish I never could awake from. I needed to be in this dream, I needed to live this dream for real. I use to think living was just being able to wake every day and exist in this pretend “happiness of my state of mind”.

This trip was myself waking up from constant justification. It was predestined to be.  

I retain mentioning to others how I find it sad to be back home, yet I ensure all the memories through my senses. The constant laughs filling my daily thoughts. My brain is occupied with information about some of the most astonishing people and spectacular historian facts. Walking under the Arc de Triomphe like my grandfather did in WWII, the fluttering thoughts about endless love limitlessly at the Eiffel tower and the feeling of living with significance. The multiple feelings I contained were worth all the jitters of the unknown. Letting myself develop in a new world was worth every single penny I saved.

Au Revoir Pour Le Moment

Processed with VSCO with lv02 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with lv02 preset

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

 

Leave a Reply

